Music Department Staff

Name Department

Peter Davis MA ARCO FISM

Director of Music

David Williams BA Assistant Director of Music
Harry Jacques BA ARCO Organist & Teacher of Academic Music
Zoe Wardell MA Teacher of Academic Music
Emily Linane  BA Graduate Musician
Georgina Carter Music Department Administrator
Carolina Mayhew BA ​Concerts & Music Projects Administrator

Steve Foster GRSM DipRCM

Head of Brass & Percussion (Trumpet)

Richard Baker Dip TCL LTCL Trombone & Tuba
Lilla Di Miceli GBSM ABSM Horn
Andrew Ferguson Drums
Christina Slominska BMus Percussion & Drums

Anne Bolt MMus BA

Head of Piano

Victoria Bonham MPerf MMus Piano
Louise Cournarie MA Piano
Cason Kang MMus Piano
Jane McKee GBSM ABSM Piano & Theory
Elizabeth Murphy GTCL Piano

Gregor Vidovic MA


Emily Holland BMus PGDip

Head of Strings (Violin)

Katherine Collison BMus Violin
Gabriella Jones BA ​Violin
Rebecca Leyton-Smith BA Cello
Melissa Favell-Wright BA PGAdvDip Double Bass
Soraya Vermeulen BMus LTCL Harp


Rachel Broadbent BMus Oboe

Samantha Read, BMus

Jane McKee GBSM ABSM Recorder
Lisa Nelsen BMus Flute
David Rix LRAM HonARAM Clarinet & Saxophone
Connie Tanner BMus LRAM Bassoon
Manda Williams GBSM ABSM Flute


Maria-Ioana Ford BA Classical & Acoustic Guitar
David Williams BA Electric, Acoustic & Bass Guitar


David Beavan MA  
Richard Coxon GRNCM  
Julie Moffat DipRCM  
Yvonne Sandison PPRNCM  
Helen Williams GRNCM PPRNCM  
Peter Davis

Peter Davis

Director of Music

I have been Director of Music at Oakham since September 2005 and hold a first class degree in Music from Cambridge University, where I spent three years as organ scholar with St John’s College’s renowned Chapel Choir. I am committed to engaging as many pupils as possible in school music, both as performers and within the curriculum, as well as providing specialist support for the School’s most talented musicians. I conduct the Chapel Choir, Chamber Choir, Lower School Choir and Symphony Orchestra.

David Williams

David Williams

Housemaster of Sargants

I joined Oakham’s vibrant music department as Assistant Director of Music in September 2019 and was appointed Housemaster of Sargants in 2021. I have had the opportunity to teach in a variety of schools in the UK and Australia since 2002, and nothing gives me greater pleasure than working with young people and helping them discover and nurture their talents, whatever they may be! Outside of school, I love to travel, read and spend time with my family, friends and the dog!

Emily Holland

Emily Holland

Head of Strings

I became Head of Strings at Oakham in 2020. I studied violin at the Royal Northern College of Music; during this time, I met my colleagues in the Benyounes Quartet with whom I studied further at Geneva Conservatoire. I continue to perform regularly with the quartet and together we are the Directors of South Downs Summer Music International Festival. I’m passionate about holistic teaching and hold an intermediate certificate in Dalcroze Eurythmics which has been very influential in my approach to music education. I lead the Lower School String Ensemble at Oakham School.

Anne Bolt

Anne Bolt

Head of Piano

I joined Oakham School in 2006 and was appointed Head of Piano a year later. I have a huge passion for developing pianists at every level, truly believing that each and every one of us has the capabilities to play the piano. My own studies took me from Wells Cathedral School to Oxford University, then onto the Guildhall School of Music and finally Indiana University in America. I keep up my performing career alongside my teaching, as well as fitting in the odd run and being a mum to three university students!

Steve Foster

Steve Foster

Head of Brass and Percussion

I studied the trumpet at the Royal College of Music and have been Head of Brass and Percussion since 1990. I have played with groups as diverse as the Bournemouth Sinfonietta and the National Youth Jazz Orchestra and thoroughly enjoy all styles of music making. As well as teaching brass, I conduct the School’s Concert Band, Big Band and Lower School Brass Ensemble.