Drag to explore
F i n d o u t n o w F i n d o u t n o w F i n d o u t n o w
30th March 2020

Singing Competition 2020

Our annual celebration of solo singing took place this term on Sunday 2 February. After many years of focussing exclusively on the English song genre, this year’s competition was revitalised with a new theme – songs from theatrical productions. Singing teachers and pupils alike embraced this theme with great enthusiasm, presenting an enormous variety of songs written between the 17th and 21st Centuries. The School was blessed with two excellent adjudicators with lots of West End and operatic experience – Rosie Ashe and Martin Ball – who were amazed by the standard of pupil performances throughout the event.

During the afternoon, year group classes took place in both Chapel and Old Hall, and as well as selecting prize-winners, the adjudicators offered insightful feedback and guidance to our young singers. All the class winners and runners-up then returned at the end of the event for a wonderful recital of theatrical songs, at which the overall winners were:

Overall Winner – Grace Muris Overall Runner-Up – Zsolti Johnson Most Promising Young Singer – Evie Holder

Many congratulations to all our participants (and their wonderful teachers and accompanists), many of whose performances stood out in their year group classes:

Form 7 class Winner – Holly Frostwick Runner-up – Grace Muris Highly commended – Emilia Hubbard, William Jacklin, Gabe Tufail Smith

Form 6 class Winner – Saffie Edgson Runner-up – Issy Wass Highly commended – Callum Wass

Form 5 class Winner – Zsolti Johnson Runner-up – Matthew Everall Highly commended – Chloe Howard, Henrietta Morris, Maisy Shand

Form 4 class Winner – Sadie Phillips Runner-up – Rosie Manning Highly commended – Ivor Amende, Daniel Kelly, George Nicholson

Form 3 class Winner – David Harrison Runner-up – Imogen Barton Highly commended – Susannah Ayre, Georgia Kirsopp

Form 2 class Winner – Evie Holder Runner-up – Eloise Snape Highly commended – Tilly Golland, Simi Hirani, Lily Reynolds

Form 1/Lower 1 class Winner – Liberty Dickinson Runner-up – Charles Sore-Brown Highly commended – Ottó Stone, Isobel Youll


Share this article