Drag to explore
F i n d o u t n o w F i n d o u t n o w F i n d o u t n o w
8th March 2022

Piano Duet Competition 2022

Oakham School Chapel resounded with piano duets on the afternoon and evening of Thursday 3 March as our annual Piano Duet Competition returned to the music calendar. Brilliantly inspired and arranged by Head of Piano, Anne Bolt, this fabulous event is a celebration of collaborative piano-playing. An amazing 45 duets had been prepared for performance on the day, with pupils being taught their own part, and then encouraged to rehearse independently with their duet partner to develop their ensemble playing.

We were privileged to have Helen Krizos from the Royal Northern College of Music as our expert and supportive adjudicator, and she was full of praise for both the quality of the pupils’ performance and the teaching of our excellent piano faculty. Her insightful adjudication comments after each class (Lower, Intermediate and Upper Grades) offered great advice to our young pianists, as well as specific and positive feedback on every performance throughout a marathon event lasting nearly 4 hours!

She was fulsome in her praise of all the performers, but a number of stand-out performances were chosen on the day, including a new prize for the best presented performances, chosen by James Robinson, Deputy Head (Co-Curriculum).

Particular congratulations are therefore due to the following pupils:


Winners – William G (Sargants) & Charlie L (Peterborough)

Runners Up – Alex C & Alex P (Sargants)

Highly Commended – Maddie C & Sophia C (Lincoln) plus the presentation award


Winners – Baker M & Charlie P (Peterborough)

Runners Up – Joshua D & Will F (Clipsham)

Highly Commended – Tomas D (Clipsham) & Charlie N (Wharflands)

Commended – George N & Thomas S-K (Clipsham)

Presentation award – Evie H (Hambleton)


Winners – Alan L (School House) & Jan S (H)

Runners Up – Lucy C (Round House) & Samantha H (Hambleton)

Highly Commended – Torah S (Gunthorpe) & Hattie T (Stevens)

Commended – Dozie O & Obi O (Haywoods); Eddie M & Ethan T (Barrow); Inan K & Seth T (Chapmans)

Presentation award – Patrick D-C (Barrow) & Matthew E (School House)

Share this article